Core Curriculum

Committee Description, 2011 Texas A&M University Faculty Senate Bylaws:
This committee shall establish requirements for, and recommend to the Senate courses to be included in the core curriculum to satisfy:
     1.  State Coordinating Board requirements in:
          a. Communications
          b. Mathematics
          c. Natural Sciences
          d. Humanities and Visual Arts
          e. Social and Behavioral Sciences
     2.  The University graduation requirement for International and Cultural Diversity.
     3.  The committee shall also establish criteria for evaluation and review, and to recommend to the Senate renewal 
          or non renewal of existing courses on a regular basis.  
     4.  The committee shall establish and implement methods for assessing the success of the core curriculum in 
          meeting Coordinating Board and SACS standards.
     5.  Members shall be appointed by the Speaker, annually, with the advice of the
          Executive Committee and the consent of the Senate. Representatives for the
          Dean of Undergraduate Programs and of the Office of Institutional Assessment shall serve as non-voting, ex-          officio members.


Initial Committee Charges from Executive Committee, 2018-2019:

  1. Develop a strategic process to get ahead of recertification of Core Curriculum Classes
  2. Create a catalog (list) of approved Cultural Discourse classes
  3. Work with Anne Kenimer to develop a faculty-lead approach so we develop broader thinking about General Education at the University
  4. Investigate organizing the catalog of ICD by themes
  5. Discuss continuous improvement methods for Core courses relative to SACSCOC (involve CTE as appropriate)

Submitting ICD and CD Courses through CARS
CD Rubric
CD Cover Sheet
ICD Rubric
ICD Cover Sheet

Instructional Video on submitting ICD/CD courses through CARS
Core Curriculum Committee Meeting Schedule

Final Guidelines for New Core Courses

For printable roster, click here.

 
2018-2019 Core Curriculum Council
Last Name First Name College  Email
Allen Gregg Medicine gallen@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Bashir Hassan Qatar hassan.bashir@qatar.tamu.edu
Buchanan John Education jjbuchanan@tamu.edu
Cahill Tony Engineering tcahill@tamu.edu
Epstein Janice Science j-epstein@tamu.edu
Erickson James Science jwerickson@tamu.edu
Frank-Cannon* Tamy Vet Med tfrank-cannon@cvm.tamu.edu
Harlin Julie Agriculture j-harlin@tamu.edu
Heinz Kevin Agriculture kmheinz@tamu.edu
Hoffman Matt Nursing mhoffman@tamhsc.edu
Holliday Shelley Architecture sholliday@tamu.edu
Humphrey Daniel  Liberal Arts danhumphrey@tamu.edu
Klein Andrew Geosciences klein@tamu.edu
Kunkel Gary Agriculture g-kunkel@tamu.edu
Panina Daria Mays Business School dpanina@mays.tamu.edu
Rice* Dale Liberal Arts dalerice@tamu.edu
Townsend Grace Galveston townseng@tamu.edu
Vestal Evan Engineering evanv@tamu.edu
Worthy Darrell Liberal Arts worthyda@tamu.edu
*Committee Co-Chair