Research


Committee Description, 2011 Texas A&M University Faculty Senate Bylaws:
This committee has the responsibility to study policies, procedures, and regulations and to recommend actions in the following areas:    
  1. External funding of research.
  2. Internal funding and distribution of research funds.
  3. Travel related to soliciting, conducting, and presentation of research.
  4. Libraries, computing, and other support facilities affecting the environment.
  5. Publication or other means of disseminating research findings.
  6. Copyrights and patents.
  7. Other matters affecting the conduct and dissemination of research.
 

Initial Committee Charges from Executive Committee, 2018-2019:

  1. Differentiate the role and mission of this committee from CPI
  2. Protect freedom of scholarship (need more information here: about setting research agenda/program or ways to publish or else?)
  3. Promote *scholarship* on campus and emphasize those areas not covered by traditional CPI faculty - Examples
    1. Participate in the development of internal funding streams to support scholarship in the humanities, and other fields
    2. Develop and/or promote the use of small scale Core Facilities - accessible to faculty across campus (3D printing, large format plotting…)
    3. Unfunded research
  4. Consider changing the name from research committee to scholarship committee or something else to be more inclusive of the intellectual activities faculty do on campus.

For printable roster, click here.
 
2018-2019 Research Committee
Last Name First Name College  Email
Abd Elmageed Zack Pharmacy elmageed@tamhsc.edu
Alvarado Jorge Engineering jorge.alvarado@tamu.edu
Arosh Joe Vet Med jarosh@cvm.tamu.edu
Arroyave Raymundo Engineering rarroyave@tamu.edu
Conway Daniel Liberal Arts conway@tamu.edu
de Figueiredo Paul Medicine pjdefigueiredo@tamu.edu
Deva Reddy Libraries devaereddy@tamu.edu
Hetland Robert Geosciences hetland@tamu.edu
Jimenez Daniel Engineering djimenez@tamu.edu
Katz Claire Liberal Arts ckatz@tamu.edu
Miranda Rajesh  Medicine miranda@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Mora-Zacarias Miguel Agriculture mmora@tamu.edu
Sezgin Ergin Science sezgin@tamu.edu
Simmons Joe Dentistry Jsimmons@tamhsc.edu
Staack David Engineering dstaack@tamu.edu
Sullivan Thomas Libraries tdsullivan@library.tamu.edu
Tao Feng Dentistry tao@tamhsc.edu
Watanabe Coran Science  watanabe@chem.tamu.edu
*Committee Chair