Personnel & Welfare

Committee Description, 2011 Texas A&M University Faculty Senate Bylaws:
This committee has the responsibility to study policies, procedures, and regulations and to recommend actions in the following areas:
     1.  Hiring, retention, tenure, promotion, and evaluation of academic personnel.
     2.  Hiring, retention, promotion, and evaluation of support personnel and graduate assistants.
     3.  Benefits for academic and support personnel.
     4.  Faculty development.
     5.  Other matters relating to University personnel and welfare.


Initial Committee Charges from Executive Committee, 2018-2019:

  1. Create consistent and regular procedures for APT faculty across University, dealing with practical differences between colleges as needed
  2. Explore issues related to the ‘class difference’ APT experience and develop related recommendations
  3. Explore issues related to the elected APT Committee; connect them to the Dean of Faculties as a starting point
  4. Explore the current status of post-tenure review by caucuses
  5. Discuss SAPs for department head and dean accountability in light of new system rules
  6. Explore the role of Academic Analytics in evaluation of faculty productivity
  7. Identify best practices for annual reviews- for all faculty titles; evaluation and promotion
  8. Discuss the scope, role, and numbers of adjunct faculty and implications for the University
  9. Work with Dean of Faculties to have conversations surrounding professionalism, civility, positive patterns of behavior, power differentials, and listening to understand.

For printable roster, click here.
2018-2019 Personnel & Welfare Committee
Last Name First Name College  Email
Akleman Derya Science
Allen Sarah Dentistry
Clark William Liberal Arts
Cohen Gomez Lorinda Education
Gaddy Dana Vet Med
Hartnack Amanda Vet Med
Herman Cheryl Vet Med
Hubbard John Medicine
Hurtado Luis Agriculture
Hutchinson Richard Engineering
Kish Laszlo  Engineering
McDonald Tommy Public Health
McElfresh Laura Galveston
McLaughlin Darlene Medicine
Neville* Bruce Libraries
Orsi Alex Geosciences
Rogers Jim Qatar
Tabaar Mohammad  Bush School
Walker Duncan Engineering
Wingenbach Gary Agriculture
Yu Choongho Engineering
*Committee Chair