Personnel & Welfare


Committee Description, 2011 Texas A&M University Faculty Senate Bylaws:
This committee has the responsibility to study policies, procedures, and regulations and to recommend actions in the following areas:
     1.  Hiring, retention, tenure, promotion, and evaluation of academic personnel.
     2.  Hiring, retention, promotion, and evaluation of support personnel and graduate assistants.
     3.  Benefits for academic and support personnel.
     4.  Faculty development.
     5.  Other matters relating to University personnel and welfare.

 

Initial Committee Charges from Executive Committee, 2018-2019:

  1. Create consistent and regular procedures for APT faculty across University, dealing with practical differences between colleges as needed
  2. Explore issues related to the ‘class difference’ APT experience and develop related recommendations
  3. Explore issues related to the elected APT Committee; connect them to the Dean of Faculties as a starting point
  4. Explore the current status of post-tenure review by caucuses
  5. Discuss SAPs for department head and dean accountability in light of new system rules
  6. Explore the role of Academic Analytics in evaluation of faculty productivity
  7. Identify best practices for annual reviews- for all faculty titles; evaluation and promotion
  8. Discuss the scope, role, and numbers of adjunct faculty and implications for the University
  9. Work with Dean of Faculties to have conversations surrounding professionalism, civility, positive patterns of behavior, power differentials, and listening to understand.

For printable roster, click here.
 
2018-2019 Personnel & Welfare Committee
Last Name First Name College  Email
Akleman Derya Science akleman@tamu.edu
Allen Sarah Dentistry sallen@tamhsc.edu
Clark William Liberal Arts   wbclark@tamu.edu
Cohen Gomez Lorinda Education lcohen@tamu.edu
Gaddy Dana Vet Med dgaddy@cvm.tamu.edu
Hartnack Amanda Vet Med ahartnack@cvm.tamu.edu
Herman Cheryl Vet Med cherman@cvm.tamu.edu
Hubbard John Medicine JKHubbard@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Hurtado Luis Agriculture lhurtado@tamu.edu
Hutchinson Richard Engineering rhutch@tamu.edu
Kish Laszlo  Engineering laszlokish@tamu.edu
McDonald Tommy Public Health tmcdonald@tamhsc.edu
McElfresh Laura Galveston mcelfrel@tamug.edu
McLaughlin Darlene Medicine dmclaughlin@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Neville* Bruce Libraries bneville@tamu.edu
Orsi Alex Geosciences aorsi@tamu.edu
Rogers Jim Qatar james-r-rogers@tamu.edu
Tabaar Mohammad  Bush School mbat@tamu.edu
Walker Duncan Engineering walker@cse.tamu.edu
Wingenbach Gary Agriculture wingenbach@tamu.edu
Yu Choongho Engineering chyu@tamu.edu
*Committee Chair